Title
Additional Settings
Published Body

From within the setup wizard, you may enable the following settings:

 

Splitter Field Definition

We package a Splitter field (csplit__Splitter__c) that can be placed on Case Page Layouts to help identify if Cases have been part of a split operation. Here, you can define how the Splitter field should be populated after a split operation happens.

  • Original Case: Select this option if you want the Splitter field to populate the value of the newly split case number on the original case.
  • Newly Split Case: Select this option if you want the Splitter field to populate the value of the original case number on the newly split case.
  • Both: Select this option if you want the Splitter field to populate the value of the original case number on the newly split case and the value of the newly split case number on the original case.
  • None: Select this option if you do not want the Splitter field to populate any value.

For more information on how this field is used in reporting, click here.

 

Bypass Sharing and Security for Case Comment Updates:

If your users do not have permission to modify case comments, enable this option to bypass the setting.

This is necessary because Case Split updates existing case comments upon splitting by adding an informational note instructing users where the comment originated.

image.png


Bypass Sharing and Security on Related Records

Enable this setting to bypass the org's current sharing model to avoid errors when the new case and its related records cannot be accessed by the user performing the split. The user performing the split will see toast notifications indicating the split was successful but won't be redirected to the new case since they cannot see it.


Enable Split to Existing Case:

If unchecked, users can only split to a new case.

Once enabled, this feature allows users to specify an existing case to split into and copy selected child objects and data from one case to another. 

  • From the Split Case page, click Existing

image.png

  • Once Existing is selected, a dropdown of the running user's recent cases will populate. Users can also search for a new case by case number, subject, account, or contact.
  • Once a Case Number is entered in the field, the remaining sections of the Split Case page will appear, allowing the user to continue with the Case Split process.

image.png

Note: Users will require access to the "Parent Case" field on the case object in order for the Existing Case lookup to display.

 

Enable Updating Case When Splitting to Existing Case

When checked, this setting allows users to edit the fields on the target case from the Split Case page.

When this setting is disabled, users can still split to an existing case but cannot edit the fields that appear on the Split Case page.

Note: this feature is only applicable if "Enable split to existing Case" is enabled.

 

Insert informational Case Comments as Public Comments:

Case Split inserts a comment on both the source and target cases to inform users of the split.

If enabled, these comments will be public instead of private. 


image.png

 

Set original Case as Parent of split Case:

If enabled, split cases will have the source case set as their parent. This will select a checkbox on the Split page that will not be editable by the end user.


image.png

 

Copy/Move Related Records:

When copying or moving a child record on the split page, any other records created at the same time (within 10 seconds) will also automatically be dragged over to the new case. For example, if an Inbound Email contains a File, moving the Email over to the new case will also automatically move the File to the new case on the split page.

2024-11-07_13-54-48 (1).gif

 

Send Case Ownership Notifications:

When a user performs a split operation and a Case Owner is present on the page, Case Split will notify the new case owner.

  • Disabled
  • Enabled, always send notifications
  • Enabled, notify if the owner is not the current user

Enable Adding Current User to Case Team:

Case Split allows you to add yourself to the Case Team when splitting a case. This helps agents save clicks and the time of manually adding themselves to the split case. If enabled, the option to add the current user to the Case Team will appear on the Split page. 

  • Add user to Case Team by default: If enabled, the option for adding the current user to the Case Team will be checked by default.
  • Default Role for adding to Case Team: The Role selected by default on the Split page. The user can choose a different role.

image.png



Redirect to Original Case:

By default, after a case is split, the page will redirect to the newly split case. Toggle this setting on if you would like to redirect to the original case instead. For example, your support agent may need to split a case to go to a different team but would like to be redirected to the original case to complete their work on the original case.

 

Documentation Name
Additional Settings